Your Guns, Our National Shame

Last week, a radicalized Muslim couple slaughtered 14 people and seriously injured many more in San Bernardino Ca.  Rather than start addressing what problems this tragic event spotlights, Radical Islamic Terrorists and easy access to Guns, the right did two very critical things.  They made sure that they galvanized their base so that NO ONE, including OBAMA, takes away their guns and they moved to defund Planned Parenthood. Again.

Let’s get the easy stuff out of the way.

Yes, Planned Parenthood has a major role in abortions in the USA. More importantly, they are the single largest source of affordable women’s healthcare in the USA.  And the funding they receive from the US Government DOES NOT in any way, shape, or form get used for abortions.  So, this is a smokescreen at best and at worst a horrible swipe at women’s healthcare.  And remember, the video Carly Fiorina constantly talks about was no filmed at Planned Parenthood.  It is propaganda and patently inflammatory and false.  I am I the only one that finds this behavior shameful?

Second, has anyone ever really said “let’s take all guns away!”?  Nope.  Generally it’s a call to reform our existing laws.  Yes I know it the 2nd Amendment gives us the right to bear arms.  Is it unilateral?  All types of guns?  All types of weapons?  Does the NRA really believe that the San Bernardino shooters should have been able to stock pile over 1000 rounds of ammunition?  Who needs that?

Why is it that whenever the topic comes to gun control, it immediately becomes the hysteria that “you can’t take all my guns!”?  Keep a pistol or two.  Keep your hunting rifle.  Ban semi-automatic weapons.  Ban having large magazines for ammo.  Put a cap on the number of rounds a person may buy or have.  We are talking about the means to kill people.  Why do we believe that enabling people to do it better and faster is a good thing?  What happened to our national critical thinking skills?  Stop the partisan politics and take steps to make it harder to gain access to weapons of mass death. That’s what these are.

Yes, the bad guys will still get guns.  But look at last week.  No one thought they were “bad” till they started shooting.  Doesn’t that lead you to believe that there are others like them and that getting guns is too easy?  Take it a step a further.  Even if we had identified these people as potentially dangerous, even put them on the terror list, they can still buy guns.  If you are on the national “no fly” list, you cannot be prevented from legally buying a gun.  In what world does that make sense?

But back to the 2nd Amendment.  In the vernacular of the time, it allowed you to have muskets.  The masses lived in a 2 room house without electricity.  You were worried about a how a monarchy across the ocean might attack us.  There was no mass, efficient, global communications.  But yet we still need rationalize YOUR (not mine) need to have an arsenal of weapons in your home.  If you want to move to a hut in Africa (or another third world country) and worry about the local government, fine have your guns.  There, not here.  This is not our reality.  No matter what Texans think about the national government invading Texas.  That one always cracks me up.

You’ve seen the articles and memes; they incense you.  How dare we take your guns away.  Feel free, shoot your gun at the front page of the New York Times.  That’s and adult response.  For some reason every gun nut decides that we can only throw the baby out with the bath water.  A friend said to me, “I have a gun. I have never had an incident.”  GREAT.  You have one gun and you’d like me to equate that with people that have 20.  Nope.  Keep your gun.  Build limits.  Build regulation.  Be a responsible adult.  We don’t let our children gorge on ice cream till they die.  Why must we treat guns differently?

Last night a friend posted the wonderful “cut and paste” meme that swimming pools, bathtubs and cars (and several other silly things that can lead to death in an accident) are more dangerous than guns.  Lunacy.  Yes there are probably more deaths via auto accidents than guns.  There are more drivers than gun owners (I’m estimating).  But car related deaths are accidents.  Gun deaths are generally not.  And no, I don’t consider the kid crippled as an unintended victim of a drive by shooting an accident.  The gun was fired.  We have more regulations and requirements for driving and car ownership than we do for guns.  Does that make sense?  Couldn’t there be an equivalent licensing and training for gun ownership?  Why do we automatically rule it out?

And before I forget, I really scared that I might bring my swimming pool to a theater and hurt you?  Seriously can we just call that meme top 10 in terms of ridiculousness?

Oh that’s right it doesn’t prevent the bad guys from getting access.  Ok, but it might make it harder.  Why can we not make progress on the issue?  Should we stop treating cancer because we haven’t solved it 100%?  Of course not, that would be stupid and callous.  So is the NRA and their allies stopping any potential improvement in our national problem and shame.

Yes, shame.  We have had more mass shootings to date in 2015 than there have been days thus far.  Is that ok?  Let’s put it in perspective.  Every time there is a mass shooting, it is on you- you are ok with it.  How is it after Columbine, Aurora, Sandy Hook, Charlotte, San Bernardino and so many more we cavalierly endeavor to stop all efforts designed make a change for the better?  If you don’t support change in the guns laws these deaths and the next ones are on you. You don’t want a change, so there for YOU are endorsing this behavior.

And to be clear, in my opinion:

Every mass killing (more than 3) is an act of terrorism.  Period.  Not every terrorist is radical Islamic Fundamentalist .  If you block realistic change you are supporting Terrorism.  Its been more than 20 years since the killing in101 California in San Francisco and the Assault Weapons killing In Stockton.  We have made no progress.  NONE!

I’m not saying I have the answer.  I don’t.  But we know that inaction is allowing this to continue and I say ENOUGH!  Let’s do something.  Be heard.  Make some changes.  Stop the grid lock and let’s make progress.  I’m not saying we are throwing out the baby with the bathwater, the NRA is.  Let’s make some progress.

Of course tomorrow or the next day there will be another shooting.  We will all be sad about the tragedy and the gun lobby will prevent any movement.  Own that.  Stand up and declare “I am ok with those people being killed as long as I have my gun rights.”  Stop pretending your actions and thoughts mean anything else.  They don’t and don’t delude yourself that it means differently.  We see you.

SHAME ON YOU.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Mork

     /  December 7, 2015

    I trust myself over anyone else to provide protection for my family and I. The police cannot protect me nor my family should we have a home invasion or attacked outside of my home.
    I am unwilling to give up my right because ever since Obama has come into office the unsavory appears to be bolder now.
    On high capacity magazines, apparently you have never been trained so it would be difficult to explain the sou dness of high capacity magazines. There is a reason why the police shoot a perp multiple times which you will never understand. Most think there is only one perpetrator but the majority of the time there are multiple perps and most are armed in some way. You may belong to the mindset many have thinking why didnt they just shoot them in the leg or arm. You should try and shoot so you have a better understanding. A responsible owner will always evaluate the background before they pull the trigger because once that bullet leaves it is our responsibility on where it lands. Imagine all of these things going through ones mind in a split second.
    You have your opinion and I respect your opinion but until I am offered a gurantee forthe safety of my family, I will look out for myself. I know how long it takes for law enforcement to respond and all they do is investigate after the fact. I want a chance at the time of the incident and not be a statistic.
    The bad guys will always have weapons whether its a gun, knife, baseball bat, hammer, etc. I am a martial artist and in a fair fight am not afraid of taking on 2-3 at once but if they are armed I know I will be injured.
    My firearm evens the playing field.
    I have never been in trouble with the law my whole life and do not plan to ever have any trouble but if anyone threatens the life of my family I am willing to take the risk.
    Plesse dont try to take away my rights because I would not infringe upon your rights and I will protect your right of speech whether I agree with you or not.
    I wish you would learn a little more about the NRA and meet its members. We are law abiding and believe strongly in our Constitution and are willing to stand behind the rights it has offered us for years.
    Thank you.

    Reply
  2. No one discussed taking away your rights. I mentioned limiting them. Do you have semi automatic weapons? do you need more than (and I admit this is arbitrary) 100 rounds per gun? Do you really NEED more than 2 guns per adult in your household? I believe you should have a gun. I can concede 2. I refuse to believe anyone needs semi-automatic weapons and 1000’s of rounds of ammunition.

    I don’t want to throw the baby out with the bathwater. I want to make this a safer world. I don’t want guns in schools – LaPierre suggests we arm teachers. The Reagan theory of mutually assured destruction, of which arming “good guys” is a corollary, is flawed thinking. Let’s stop ignoring the problem and LIMIT (not eliminate) lea gal gun ownership. Make it as hard as a drivers license. You still have your weapons and you can be safe in your domicile, protected from the bolder criminal element you cite. Me? I’m going to try and make this a better world, not try to be ready to kill the baddies.

    Reply
  3. blxk

     /  December 8, 2015

    I overly enjoyed reading your thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

